Link to the full Curriculum Vitae (CV)

Emil Björnson (Fellow, IEEE) received the M.S. degree in engineering mathematics from Lund University, Sweden, in 2007, and the Ph.D. degree in telecommunications from the KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, in 2011. From 2012 to 2014, he was a Post-Doctoral Researcher with the Alcatel-Lucent Chair on Flexible Radio, SUPELEC, France. From 2014 to 2021, he held different professor positions at Linköping University, Sweden. He has been a Full Professor of Wireless Communication at KTH since 2020 and the Head of the Communication Systems division since 2024.

He has authored the textbooks Optimal Resource Allocation in Coordinated Multi-Cell Systems (2013), Massive MIMO Networks: Spectral, Energy, and Hardware Efficiency (2017), Foundations of User-Centric Cell-Free Massive MIMO (2021), and Introduction to Multiple Antenna Communications and Reconfigurable Surfaces (2024). He is dedicated to reproducible research and has published much simulation code. He researches multi-antenna communications, reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, radio resource allocation, machine learning for communications, and energy efficiency.

Dr. Björnson has performed MIMO research since 2006, his papers have received more than 31000 citations, and he has filed more than 30 patent applications. He co-hosts the podcast Wireless Future and has a popular YouTube channel with the same name. He is a Wallenberg Academy Fellow, a Digital Futures Fellow, and an SSF Future Research Leader. He has received the 2014 Outstanding Young Researcher Award from IEEE ComSoc EMEA, the 2015 Ingvar Carlsson Award, the 2016 Best Ph.D. Award from EURASIP, the 2018 and 2022 IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Awards in Wireless Communications, the 2019 EURASIP Early Career Award, the 2019 IEEE Communications Society Fred W. Ellersick Prize, the 2019 IEEE Signal Processing Magazine Best Column Award, the 2020 Pierre-Simon Laplace Early Career Technical Achievement Award, the 2020 CTTC Early Achievement Award, the 2021 IEEE ComSoc RCC Early Achievement Award, the 2023 IEEE ComSoc Outstanding Paper Award, and the 2024 IEEE ComSoc Stephen O. Rice Prize. He also coauthored papers that received best paper awards at the conferences WCSP 2009, the IEEE CAMSAP 2011, the IEEE SAM 2014, the IEEE WCNC 2014, the IEEE ICC 2015, and WCSP 2017.